PRAISE FOR ORIGINAL SINS


"A nimble, assured thriller.” -New York Times

"Dark, menacingly atmospheric and characters that vibrate off the page. At times poetic, I loved ORIGINAL SINS. Riley Fisher just might be my favourite ever detective!” -Rachel Wolf, author of Five Nights

"Riveting, sophisticated and nail-bitingly tense, Original Sins is hands down the best procedural I’ve read in years. Erin Young has talent to burn.” -Anna Downes, author of The Safe Place

"A meticulously plotted police procedural that absolutely has it all: an icy setting in rural Iowa, a timely political backdrop... and one of the most chilling villains I've read in recent history. This book is perfect for fans of Tana French.” —Stacy Willingham, New York Times bestselling author of A Flicker in the Dark

"Young transforms a seemingly rote procedural into a high-octane, ardently feminist thriller with surprising narrative layers and a nightmare-worthy villain. —Karin Slaughter fans, take note.” -Publishers Weekly

"A totally fresh take on the FBI procedural, ORIGINAL SINS is beautifully written and utterly absorbing – an absolute must-read” —Kevin Wignall, author of A Death in Sweden

"This book will chill you to the bone. So atmospheric I feel like I’ve actually been to Des Moines. A complex, tense, dark thriller with a cop to root for and a killer to fear. So good!” —Araminta Hall, author of One of the Good Guys

"Intricate plotting, breakneck pacing - and, in FBI agent Riley Fisher, a compelling heroine you’ll not soon forget.” —Wendy Walker, author of What Remains 

"An intoxicating, atmospheric and tense thriller that compels you from the first page.” —Nadine Matheson, author of The Jigsaw Man

"This fast-paced feminist thriller marks a series hitting its stride.” -Booklist

"A proper cinematic thriller!” -Tariq Ashkanani, author of Follow Me to the Edge

"Incredible. A chilling, terrifyingly plausible and white-knuckle of a thriller. Erin Young's masterful writing makes you not only feel you've been airdropped into Des Moines but that the horrors that unfold are happening around you." -Graham Bartlett, author of City on Fire

"Bold, gritty and deeply immersive, the compelling plotline, richly drawn characters and authentic sense of place wrapped up in taut heartfelt prose, drew me in and had me racing through the pages well into the night. A stunning and hugely suspenseful follow up to The Fields. -AA Chaudhuri, author of The Final Party

"The Fields was an assured and thought provoking debut, but with Original Sins Erin Young takes the authenticity and pacing of her story telling to a new level. This book is both meticulously researched and enthralling." -Anthony Riches, author of Nemesis

"Original Sins is compelling from the first page to the last, dealing with important and challenging issues through a propulsive, edge-of-the-seat narrative. A brilliant thriller, and Young's superb writing on every page, along with her engaging cast of characters, lifts the novel into a class of its own." -Marina Palmer, author of The Russian Doll

"Horrifyingly compelling, ingeniously twisted, each character, every plot turn meticulously crafted. Forensic knowledge of middle America & pitch perfect detail. Brilliant." -Sarah Sultoon, author of Death Flight

"Erin Young has knocked it out of the park with this one." -HB Lyle, author of The Spy Hunter

"Riley Fisher’s resilience and tenacity as she’s thrown curveball after curveball—in both the case and her personal life—will have readers rooting for her as she puts the pieces of the mystery together." -Kirkus


PRAISE FOR THE FIELDS


"Fast, smart and authentic. The Fields is one of the best procedurals I’ve read in a good long while.” —Ace Atkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Heathens


"The sharp prose and explosive plot immediately drew me in, but the richly textured exploration of life in rural America stayed with me long after I finished. This is a classic crime series in the making." —Cristina Alger, New York Times bestselling author of Girls Like Us


“This is superb. Dark, immersive and seriously gripping. Hints of True Detective & The Silence of the Lambs.” —Will Dean, author of The Last Thing to Burn

"A smart compelling thriller. Silence of the Lambs meets the Pelican Brief." -Lyz Lenz, author of God Landi>

“Young delivers a disturbing, twist-riddled thriller stocked with well-drawn characters.” —Publishers Weekly


“What could be more all-American than a small town amid rolling fields of corn? But when a woman’s body is found in those same fields, the dark truth beneath that wholesome image begins to emerge.... From potential serial-killer investigation to high stakes political intrigue... The Fields is an impressive debut.” —Mystery & Suspense

“The Fields is a gripping and original crime-thriller that doesn’t let you go. I was transported to the Iowa cornfields, enthralled and terrified by turns. Murder, politics, family secrets, an iconic main character, and a fiendish plot.” —Laura Shepherd-Robinson, author of Blood & Sugar


“Sharp with dark brilliance and a gripping panorama of characters, a detective who will pull you round and break your heart, Erin Young takes us deep into The Fields, dark heart of cruelty, conspiracy, betrayal, a web of lies, secrets and love. A world you don’t want to leave, an all out, edge of your seat thriller you can’t put down.” —Kate Williams, author of The Pleasures of Men

“Utterly gripping - The Fields whips along at an incredible pace. Young's novel is both a brilliantly imagined police procedural and a nightmarish horror story that will keep you glued to your seat and struggling through the cornfields of Iowa in the same moment.” —Marina Palmer, author of The Russian Doll

“This terrific debut…nails its characters from the outset: real people you care about caught up in a thrilling plot. It gave me Mare of Easttown vibes.” —E.C. Fremantle, author of The Poison Bed

“A very well polished debut... [and] a compelling police procedural.... Those who appreciate well-constructed multi-layered mysteries with flawed characters should find this very much to their liking.” —Deadly Pleasures

“Get ready for the first novel in a new page-turning police procedural series.” —Novel Suspects

"…well-crafted procedural details and vivid portraits of Black Hawk’s denizens provide a compelling draw.” Booklist

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close